The ecclesiastical marriage courts took up their activities in 1857. In 1868 Emperor Franz Joseph I overruled the regulations of the Concordat through the enactment of the "May Laws" and transferred the jurisdiction over matrimonial affairs back to the secular courts. In place of the churchly regulations the rules of the General Civil Law Code of 1811 (ABGB) once again came into effect as well as subsequent laws and regulations. Since the church did not accept the one-sided termination of the Concordat by the Austrian monarchy, the ecclesiastical marriage courts continued to carry out their function as divorce courts until at least 1871. The validity of the Concordat wasn't formally terminated until 1874.

The following table gives an overview of the ecclesiastical marriage courts and periods of investigation, number of proceedings examined and number of couples concerned.

	Catholic Marriage Courts	Periods	Months	Proseedings	Couples
1	Marriage Court St. Pölten	01-06/1857	6	17	11
2	Marriage Court St. Pölten	09-12/1867	3	13	12
3	Marriage Court Vienna	09-12/1867	3	73	54
	Total		12	103	77

Andrea Griesebner, August 2019 Last update, Andrea Griesebner, Dezember 2020

Next menu item | Digital Archive

Citation: Andrea Griesebner, Periods » Start » Data collection » Ecclesiastical Courts (1857–1867), in: Webportal. Marriage at Court 3.0, 2025,

http://ehenvorgericht.univie.ac.at/?lang=en&page_id=10450&pdf=10450>. [Date of access: 2025-07-06]